When you are arrested for drunk driving, the judge presiding over your case could order a variety of penalties. DUI convictions can result in fines, incarceration, formal probation, license suspension, DUI education, and summary probation. The judge may also order you to wear a SCRAM device or ankle bracelet. Here’s what to know about wearing an ankle bracelet after being charged and convicted of a DUI and how a Mississippi criminal defense attorney can help you. 

SCRAM Devices 

If you are ordered to wear a SCRAM bracelet (Secure Continuous Remote Alcohol Monitor), you are required to wear the equipment at all times. A SCRAM device measures your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) via your perspiration, or sweat, using a method known as transdermal alcohol testing. Once every half hour, the bracelet sends BAC data to a dedicated monitoring center. The court is alerted if the SCRAM device finds alcohol in your bloodstream.

A SCRAM bracelet may be ordered when the offender is instructed not to drink alcohol as part of their probation or home detention. Furthermore, courts have the authority to impose alcohol monitoring for repeat DUI offenders or in cases where the offender has an alcohol dependency or addiction.

Are House Arrest & SCRAM the Same? 

SCRAM monitoring and house arrest are two different concepts, however, both may be ordered by a judge depending on the circumstances surrounding a case. You may need to wear only one device, or you may be ordered to wear a SCRAM device and a traditional ankle bracelet for GPS monitoring if the judge places you on house arrest. 

How Do I Get an Ankle Bracelet & What Is the Cost? 

If you are sentenced to BAC tracking by the court, you will need to contact an approved SCRAM provider in Mississippi. You then make arrangements with the provider yourself to have the monitor installed. You must pay for the monitor itself as well as the daily monitoring charge. This typically costs between $50 and $100 for the device. Daily monitoring expenses for a SCRAM bracelet can be as high as $12 each day. For alcohol tracking and home detention, you might pay up to $15 each day.

Get Help After a Drunk Driving Charge From an Experienced Starkville, MS Criminal Defense Lawyer 

If you were arrested for drinking and driving, your future rests in the hands of the lawyer that handles your case. Make sure the legal counsel you hire has the experience to represent you. Call Mississippi criminal defense attorney J. Brian Kelley at (662) 324-3476.

HOW CAN I HELP YOU?

13 + 14 =

What Constitutes a Lawful DUI Arrest in Mississippi?

If you are caught drinking and driving, police officers must ensure they follow certain guidelines when they make an arrest. If not, your case could be dismissed. Here are the steps to a lawful DUI arrest in Mississippi and how to get legal help from an experienced...

read more

Can You Be Arrested for Driving With Diabetes?

According to the American Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) about 10% of people in the U.S. have diabetes. There are two types, both of which impact the pancreas’ ability to generate enough insulin to control the body’s blood sugar. Type I and Type II...

read more

How Long Will I Be In Jail After A DUI Arrest?

What Happens If You're Arrested For A DUI In Starkville? If you’re arrested for a DUI, you may have to spend time in jail. This can be a frightening experience, especially if you’ve never been incarcerated before. Here’s what you can expect regarding jail time for a...

read more

DUI Expungements In Mississippi?

Does Mississippi Allow for DUI Expungements? Expungements for DUI charges in Mississippi became law in 2014. In order to qualify for an expungement, a defendant must wait five years after completing the court-ordered requirements of their conviction. However, you must...

read more